Found the Emerald City

I finished my quilt using the Oz fabric by Moda (2010) over the holiday weekend. I am really pleased with the quilt I never intended to sew. First of all triangles! Second of all, self-binding! Third, it’s actually quilted! (ok, machine quilted, but I did it!)

I had hoped to incorporate yellow as the border but it just didn’t look right. I really thought it needed a yellow brick road but instead it got a green flannel backing. I was thoroughly surprised at how easy it was to self-bind. OK, I cursed a little but really, I was pleased with the results.

And really, as much as I keep saying “no more quilts” or even “the last quilt I make will be for the baby” that is all a big lie. Over the weekend a friend delivered two large tubs of quilting fabric, flannel, and fleece. It was even mostly matched by color! So even after I got rid of fabric recently, I’ve acquired more. I think I’m going to have to eat this elephant one bite at a time. Or quilt one stitch at a time.

I figure I have plenty of time to work on some sewing before the baby comes. At least, I have about five more weeks before we know what it is and I can throw myself into sewing for the room. Yes, there are more important things than pretty curtains and happy blankets they won’t use but it’s fun to indulge a little. After all, it isn’t like I don’t have fabric…

Leave a comment

Filed under sewing

Leave a Reply

