Breaking My Own Sewing Rule

When I last left this blog, I posted a picture of my new birthday pj pants. They are pretty awesome. I came home this afternoon from work and took the waistband off, brought the pants up 3 inches so they’d fit better, and reattached the band. They fit now. They aren’t one massive baggy blob.

Somewhere in my head I decided that it wasn’t so difficult to sew a pair of pajama pants. And after years of sewing lots of things, I realized I never have sewn anything for Mr. Lulu. But that breaks my general rule of thumb. My Cardinal Rule. The Rule That Shall Not Be Broke. And I broked it.

My Rule: Don’t sew for anyone but yourself.

There are exceptions to this rule: blankets are ok to sew, some accessories, and embroidery is fine. But sewing clothes is a number one no no. So whatever on earth possessed me to sew for my husband, I will never know.

But the sewing fairy was on my side on this one. Over the weekend, we went to Joanns and Mr. Lulu went through the flannels. We looked at plaids (yawn) we looked at dinosaurs (kinda cool), there wasn’t enough mushroom fabric on the bolt (bummer) but Mr. Lulu kept going back to … puppies.

Maybe this comes from his love of puppy piles, but we brought home some yardage and I sewed him a pair of pajama pants.

It went remarkably well. One, it helps that the pattern is super easy. Two, it helps that the pattern is super easy. :) With a little taking in, hemming of the legs, and fixing the elastic, Mr. Lulu now has a new pair of stylin’ puppy pants.

Puppy Pants

Leave a comment

Filed under Crafting, creativity, fabric

Leave a Reply

