Pillowcase reconstruction, zipper drama solved.

My writing has been inconsistent lately, but I’ll say my sewing hasn’t. Actually, I’ve been quite busy with my sewing! Mostly I’ve been waiting to have pictures to show, because really, who wants to just read me ramble on? Yeah, that’s kinda what I thought.

I’ve had some time on my hands due to some freak of nature (really) and I’ve been able to sit down at my machine and knock out some projects.

The first two pictures are pillowcase dresses I made for two VERY adorable girls. Hopefully their mama will send me pictures of them with the dress on soon- until then, you get pictures taken by my blackberry and they stink.

Pillowcase dresses are absolutely fun to sew and very customizable. Being my first time sewing them, I looked around the internet and found a TON of tutorials.

 

I also finally sat down to start and finish some skirts for the summer.

The blue polka dot skirt needs a new bottom- like a ruffle. I thought about a white white ruffle, so I’ll probably run out and find some white seersucker to add to the bottom.

And I was so excited about making those pillowcase dresses, I took a pillowcase I picked up at the St. Andrew’s thrift store and turned it into a tank for me!

I think I’m going to add a green ribbon close to where the bottom seam is, about three inches up from the bottom hem. It’s cute and summery. I’ve thought about adding a ruffle to the top of this, but not sure. I have another pillowcase, but I’m just having a heck of a time cutting it apart. The cool thing about this is this tank took about $1 to put together!

OH! And today I finally went to the store where I bought my machine to figure out what was wrong with my zipper foot. Let’s just say….user error. And my face is a little red.

Anyways, back to sewing!

Leave a comment

Filed under creativity, fabric, sewing

Leave a Reply

