Forty Days and the Bay

Today marks the beginning of Lent, you know the season of giving up chocolate or Facebook (like Mr. Lulu) or maybe soda. Usually instead of giving up something, I like to do something. Doing makes me feel like I’m participating more than if I give something up.

For the next forty days (From March 9-April 24) any proceeds from The Original Lulu Bean will be donated to the Chesapeake Bay Foundation.

Save the Bay

As someone who lives a stones throw from a tributary of the Chesapeake Bay, I am extremely aware of our environmental impact on our waterways. I can probably blog for eons on this. Everything we do (and I’m including those in New Jersey, Pennsylvannia, Delaware, Maryland, and Virginia in this) affects the Bay. Fertilizing, bug killing, using a car, you name it. And even in the last twenty years that I have lived here on the east coast, I have seen massive negative changes in the waterways. I don’t want to see that continue, I’d like to see the Bay thrive and continue to be that national treasure for centuries to come.

The Chesapeake Bay Foundation received a B+ from the website Charity Watch. And to copy and paste what their website states: The Chesapeake Bay Foundation (CBF) fights for bold and creative solutions to the pollution that plagues the Bay and its tributaries. Across the six-state Chesapeake watershed, CBF sets the agenda, serves as a watchdog, and speaks out on behalf of the Chesapeake Bay to business, government, and the public.

This is a wonderful organization that protects not just the fish, crabs, surrounding land, but the people who get to enjoy it all. Please remember as you purchase from The Original Lulu Bean this season, you’ll be doing more than having just a unique and special bag. You’ll be helping save the bay.

Thank you!

1 Comment

Filed under bags, blogs, Etsy, purses, sewing

One response to “Forty Days and the Bay

  1. FACT: We absolutely are the same person!!! I just posted something of the same sort on the MTM blog announcing a similar-ish partnership of charitable giving! (I’m sort of giving up FB like the Mister. Mine is more like cutting back though. I’m doing only one log-on in the evenings strictly for business/replying to messages purposes.)

Leave a Reply

