PICTURES and other sewing machine digressions.

YEEEAAAAAH! (please say that in your best Kermit the Frog, for full effect)

I’ve been true to my word and have promised pictures. In the past week or so, I’ve finished about six new handbags, that are for purchase on my Etsy site. Some of these patterns are new, some are made up, some the world may never know. I MAY NEVER KNOW. But nonetheless, they are sewn and if I may say so myself, are quite awesome.

So now that I finally posted pictures, it’s onto a more serious subject. The subject of…sewing machines.

I know, I know. About this time, every year, I go through a “I HATE MY SEWING MACHINE!” phase. Well, I broke two needles in five minutes. And the top spool of thread keeps winding around the bobbin instead of sewing. I spoke to Amy at Material Girls Quilt Shop in La Plata and she gave me some insight. She said that the tension is off and that the thread is just being pushed into the bobbin, and that drop in bobbins have a higher rate of tension issues  than side mounted bobbins. She gave me a spool net, which has helped a little but it got me thinking (besides about a new sewing machine.)

My thread up-take has ALWAYS given me trouble. You can read back blogs on that one. My Singer Confidence is only giving me the confidence to not buy another Singer. Well, the thread up-take is what helps regulate the tension. And if that’s been broken, fixed, and still isn’t right, of COURSE I’m going to have issues.

I really really really  want a new sewing machine. And I’m torn. Part of me wants to get a Bernina. There are local dealers, people love them, but their properietary feet and extraodinary cost always gets me a little choked up. Part of me wants a Janome. I have a local Pfaff dealer too, but again, cost is prohibitive. And for the life of me, I can’t get a straight answer out of anyone, because everyone has their own opinions on what is a good sewing machine. And how do you trust a salesman?

Every time I feel like I’m shopping for a new machine, it’s like buying a new car. You never know if it’s the right one for you until you have it for about six months and run it through the daily paces.

So I’m back to my condundrum…which machine. But in the meantime, I’ll probably  be heading over to Material Girls and take a class on my serger because for a year now, it’s been sitting there and I have no idea how to use it.

Leave a comment

Filed under bags, Crafting, creativity, Etsy, purses, sewing, sewing machines, totes

Leave a Reply

